Archive | 12:23 PM

Yep, I Made It: Ch-Ch-Chicken Meatballs!

31 Jul
Hello!

I always find myself wracking my brain when trying to come up with a versatile meal idea, where I have the option of freezing so it can be just as good if used within a week.  Then…meatballs came to mind!

Meatballs are super easy to make – just mix, shape and cook.  They’re also pretty simple to adjust just so they are a wee bit healthier.

In the recipe below, I’ve replaced beef with chicken, italian bread crumbs with whole wheat, and opted to bake instead of fry:

What You’ll Need
  • 1 lb. ground chicken
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup yellow onion, minced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese* (optional)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs (increase to 1 cup if eliminating parm cheese)
  • 2 tsp. fresh** oregano (You can go with dried, but fresh herbs make a huge difference in this recipe!)
  • 2 tsp. fresh thyme
  • 2 tsp. fresh parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
What You’ll Do
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Place chicken, egg, yellow onion and garlic in a medium bowl.  Knead until combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix parm cheese, bread crumbs, thyme, parsley, sea salt and black pepper.  Add to meat mixture.  Knead until combined.
  4. Add Worcestershire sauce and olive oil.  Guess what?  Knead until combined. =)
  5. Line a 9 x 12 cookie sheet with parchment paper or lightly grease.
  6. Form meatballs to desired size and place on cookie sheet.  Keep them about 1/2 inch apart so that they can cook evenly.
  7. Place in oven and bake for about 15-20 minutes. And….
Voila!  Meatballs that you can use in spaghetti sauce tonight, then freeze and use next week in meatball parm heroes!  (Make sure they’re cooled before placing them in a freezer-safe zip-lock bag or container…)
Meatballs in spaghetti sauce with thin spaghetti and a just a little mozzarella cheese =)
(all photos by a. singh)
Enjoy!

xoxo andrea

If You Don’t Know…

31 Jul
 (click for source)
“I’ve missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. Twenty-six times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”
– Michael Jordan

My whirlwind weekend has left me very, very exhausted!  But not without this week’s crop of fave Internet finds!

Enjoy!

  •  Above, in honor of the 2012 Summer Olympics, a some fantastic inspirational quotes from past Olympic champs
  •  So fun!  Advice about love via The Golden Girls (the original Sex and the City!)
  • Three daily habits that help you to stay optimistic
  • Finally, I never thought that this humor piece about embarrassing moments would take me through such a rollercoaster of emotions!  (a worthwhile read for sure!)
Have a great week!

xoxo andrea